Battery or gas, 24 or 28 inches? Our 3 rankingsOur 3 snow blower rankings → See all

Updated October 2026 · 5 snow blowers, no paid placements

Best Two-Stage Snow Blowers in 2026

Five two-stage snow blowers we'd trust with the ridge the plough leaves at the end of a real driveway, battery and gas side by side. Ranked on buyer ratings, review volume and the specs each listing states, with the catch of each one spelled out. Shopping by width? The 24–26 inch and the 28-inch-and-wider machines have their own lists.

In short

Short on time? Start with the EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool; the other four are here in case your snow, your budget or your feelings about gas cans say otherwise. Variants that share one review pool take a single slot, so these are five different machines, not one machine in five sizes.

Written from each listing's specs and buyer reviews, not from our own use · How we rate

The ranking in detail

1EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool
Two-stage snow blowers · EGO · Top pick

EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool

9.3Excellent · out of 10

Best for: an owner who already runs a battery mower

  • 24" self-propelled 2-stage
  • Throws snow up to 50 feet
  • Push-button start, LED lights

The catch: No heated grips stated for the EGO, while most machines here have them.

4.6/5 from buyers706 buyer reviews$1,178.99 Price on Oct 30, 2026 · may have changed
2EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage Kit
Two-stage snow blowers · EGO · Runner-up

EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage Kit

8.6Very good · out of 10

Also available as: SNT2416 24" Two-Stage XP Kit

Best for: a farm lane or a three-car drive in lake-effect country

  • 28" clearing width
  • Throws snow up to 60 feet
  • Clears up to 32-car driveway

The catch: The 32-car rating is for 8 inches of snow; wet snow and the plough ridge eat charge faster.

4.6/5 from buyers365 buyer reviews, shared by 3 variantsSee current price ↗
3PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, Handle Warmer
Two-stage snow blowers · PowerSmart · Top 5 pick

PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, Handle Warmer

8.6Very good · out of 10

Best for: heavy, wet snow and the plough ridge at the end of the drive

  • 208cc Briggs & Stratton engine
  • 26-inch clearing width
  • Built-in handle warmer

The catch: Its 4.5/5 buyer rating is the lowest of these five.

4.5/5 from buyers706 buyer reviews$999 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed
4PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, 13" Tires
Two-stage snow blowers · PowerSmart · Top 5 pick

PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, 13" Tires

8.2Very good · out of 10

Also available as: 24" 208cc B&S, 120V Start

Best for: a two-car drive and a sidewalk after a big storm

  • 208cc engine, electric start
  • 6 forward, 2 reverse speeds
  • LED light for night use

The catch: No buyer reviews captured yet, so it is rated on its specs alone.

$899.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed

Product images: Amazon listings

Best rated by power source

The best-rated machine of this ranking for each power source its listing states. Battery or gas is the first fork in the road, so start with the row that suits your garage (and your patience with engines).

BatteryEGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool (#1) · 9.3/10 · 24 in · Bare tool
GasPowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, Handle Warmer (#3) · 8.6/10 · 26 in

How to choose

Comparison table

All 5 on one screen. Tap a column header to sort by what matters on the morning of the storm: width, throw or price.

Comparison table: Best Two-Stage Snow Blowers in 2026
EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare ToolEGO9.3$1,178.99†24 inTwo-stageBattery50 ftBare tool706
EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage KitEGO8.6See current price28 inTwo-stageBattery60 ftBattery kit365 (shared)*
PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, Handle WarmerPowerSmart8.6$999†26 inTwo-stageGas45 ftNot stated706
PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, 13" TiresPowerSmart8.2$899.99†26 inTwo-stageGasNot statedNot statedNot stated
WEN SB209E 24" 209ccWEN8.2See current price24 inTwo-stageGas30 ftNot statedNot stated

† Prices as of Sep 30, 2026 – Oct 30, 2026; they may have changed. The button always shows today's price.

* Shared: the same review pool appears on every variant of a listing family (EGO, 3 variants), so the count is not specific to one variant.

How we rank

Every machine gets a rating out of 10 from its exact listing: what buyers give it, how many of them there are, and how completely the seller documents the specs. On an exact tie, the listing identifier decides the order.

Then our editors look at how the machines stack up against each other, warranty included. We haven't cleared snow with these machines ourselves, and a commission never moves a rating or a rank.

  • 45 % buyer rating, damped when a listing has fewer than 50 reviews.
  • 35 % review volume, on a logarithmic scale up to 5,000 reviews.
  • 20 % documentation: feature bullets, images and stated brand of the listing.
  • Clearing width and throw distance show up only when the exact listing states them. A stated throw is a fluffy-snow number, not what you get with wet March slush, and we measure nothing ourselves.
  • One slot per review pool: variants of one parent listing, or listings showing an identical captured review record, count once; family variants are listed under the best-rated one.
  • Prices carry the date we recorded them. They may have changed since; the button shows today's offer.

Frequently asked questions

Which is the best two-stage snow blower in 2026?

Battery and gas together, our pick is the EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool, at 9.3/10 (excellent). It has 706 buyer reviews averaging 4.6/5, and its listing states a 24 in clearing width and a 50 ft throw distance. Close behind: the EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage Kit at 8.6/10.

How is this ranking built?

We start from 24 complete two-stage walk-behind machines whose exact listing states a battery or gas power source. Each one gets a rating out of 10 built on buyer rating (45 %), review volume (35 %) and how completely the listing documents its specs (20 %), plus our editors' read of how the machines compare. The list keeps both power sources and at most two listings per brand. Variants of one listing family share one review pool and take a single slot, so you see 5 different machines rather than one machine in 5 sizes.

Battery or gas: which two-stage snow blower should I choose?

This ranking keeps both: two battery and three gas machines, with at most two listings per brand. A battery machine needs no fuel, oil or spark plug, but how long it runs depends on the packs and on how wet the snow is. A gas machine wants fuel storage and engine care, and refuels in a minute. Neither tells you how a machine copes with your driveway: we compare listings, not driveways.

Does a battery snow blower come with batteries?

Not always. Some listings are the bare tool, others a kit with batteries and a charger. In this ranking, two listings state the configuration, and you'll see it on the card. Check the exact configuration in the listing before you buy, because the same machine is often sold both ways.

Are the prices up to date?

Each price is the one we recorded on Sep 30, 2026 – Oct 30, 2026, and it may have changed since (snow blower prices move with the season). The button always opens the exact listing with today's price, seller and delivery method; bigger gas machines often ship by freight.

Have you used these snow blowers yourselves?

No, we haven't cleared a driveway with them. The ratings come from what buyers say, the specs stated in each exact listing and our editors' read of how the machines compare. The methodology page explains how it all adds up.