
1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S
6.2Fair · out of 10$1,190 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: Two-stage · Gas
- Two-stage snow blowers

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
If you're after a 24-inch clearing path, the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S delivers, with a 208cc Briggs & Stratton engine on top. Think of it for a typical suburban drive and the walk to the door: 6.2/10 on what its listing documents.
| Brand | Generic |
|---|---|
| Category | Two-stage snow blowers |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Power source | Gas |
| Engine | 208cc Briggs & Stratton |
| ASIN | B0HFSMNMM7 |
Full listing title: 1696614 2-Stage Snow Thrower 208cc, 24 Briggs Stratton
Two other gas two-stage machines about as wide, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



The clearing width the listing states. On our planner's maths (4 inches of overlap per pass), a 20-foot-wide two-car drive is 12 passes at this width, and a 4-foot sidewalk 3. It runs a 208cc Briggs & Stratton engine, per the listing.
What it has going for it
208cc Briggs & Stratton engine. A mid-size engine, the common size for 24 to 26 inch two-stage machines. Briggs & Stratton is named on the listing, which helps when you hunt for parts later.
Two-car drive: at 24 inches it's 12 passes on a 20-foot-wide drive, on our planner's maths.
Long country lane: a 12-foot lane is 8 passes, so a 200-foot lane means about 1,600 feet of walking behind it. The listing doesn't state a self-propelled drive, so ask before you count on one for that distance.
What the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S listing names:
The owner's manual has the last word on oil, fuel, charging and shear pins; it ships with the machine, so read it before the first storm.

On Sep 30, 2026, that price put it around the middle of the 18 gas two-stage snow blowers we have a recent price for.
The online price is the machine alone. Oil, fuel stabilizer, a few spare shear pins and, if it lives outside, a cover come on top every season.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0HFSMNMM7), where today's price, stock and seller apply.
A wider drive, fewer passes? The Honda HSS928AATD 28" Two-Stage (8.5/10) clears 28 inches, per its listing.
No gas can in the garage? The EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool (9.3/10) runs on 56V batteries, rated by its maker at up to an 18-car driveway per charge.
Cold hands? The EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage Kit (9.3/10) has heated grips, per its listing.
Our take
The 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S earns its place with a 24-inch clearing path and a 208cc Briggs & Stratton engine. No buyer reviews yet, so this Generic two-stage snow blower has to win you over on paper. The catch with the Generic: no electric start stated, while most machines here have one. We'd pick it if you want a two-stage snow blower for a typical suburban drive and the walk to the door; otherwise, put it next to the PowerSmart 24" 208cc B&S, LED Lights first.
Check the listing for what you have to put together before the first start. Fill it with fresh gas and check the oil before you need it.
Prime, choke and pull, as the manual says. At 24 inches a pass, a 20-foot drive is 12 passes.
Keep a few spare shear pins on the shelf, and clear a clogged chute with a stick, never your hand. Our safety guide explains why.
Stabilize the fuel or run it dry, as the manual says, and change the oil. Our summer storage guide has the April checklist.
Before you order the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S, check your driveway width: at 24 inches a pass, a 20-foot drive takes 12 passes on our planner's maths.
Pace out the width and the length (one stride is roughly three feet) and type them into our clearing-width planner. It compares the size classes for you.
On gravel, the housing has to ride high enough not to pick up stones. Our gravel vs paved guide shows the setting.
Fresh gas, the oil grade in the manual and a stabilizer for the off-season. Our oil guide and summer storage guide cover both.
Do it in November, not in the first storm. Our starting guide lists what to check.
How the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S stacks up against the closest alternative, the PowerSmart 24" 208cc B&S, LED Lights.
| Criterion | 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S | PowerSmart 24" 208cc B&S, LED Lights |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 6.2/10 | 6.6/10 |
| Drive | Not stated | Self-propelled |
| Start | Not stated | Electric |
| Heated grips | Not stated | Stated |
Pick the PowerSmart 24" 208cc B&S, LED Lights if you want our higher-rated option (6.6/10), with electric start and heated grips.
We rate it 6.2/10 (fair). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
Fresh fuel (with a stabilizer if it sits for weeks), the engine oil grade its manual names, a couple of spare shear pins and a dry corner of the garage. Fuel it and start it outdoors only: the exhaust carries carbon monoxide.
Its listing states a 24-inch clearing path and a 208cc Briggs & Stratton engine. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how it copes with your snow, your surface and the plough ridge can't be read from a listing.
Your driveway: pace out the width and the length (one stride is roughly three feet) and type them into our clearing-width planner. It compares the size classes for you. Gravel or paved: on gravel, the housing has to ride high enough not to pick up stones. Our gravel vs paved guide shows the setting. Fuel, oil and storage: fresh gas, the oil grade in the manual and a stabilizer for the off-season. Our oil guide and summer storage guide cover both. The first start: do it in November, not in the first storm. Our starting guide lists what to check.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed the way our methodology page explains.