
Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage
5.8Fair · out of 10$3,499 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 28 in · Two-stage · Gas
- 32 buyer reviews
- Two-stage snow blowers

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing and 32 buyer reviews, not from our own use · How we rate
We like the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage for the mix: a 28-inch clearing path, rubber tracks instead of wheels and a 21.7-inch intake. It suits a long or wide driveway that gets real snow, and its sibling listing, the Honda HSS928AATD 28" Two-Stage, holds #2 in our 28-inch and wider two-stage snow blower ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Honda |
|---|---|
| Category | Two-stage snow blowers |
| Clearing width | 28 in |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Power source | Gas |
| Intake height | 21.7 in |
| Start | Recoil |
| Drive | Tracks |
| Snow moved | 1,900 lb/min (maker's figure) |
| Stated warranty | 3 years |
| Assembly | Arrives assembled, per the listing |
| Buyer reviews | 32 · 4.6/5 |
| ASIN | B0GSH9WP1F |
Full listing title: Honda HSS928APT 28-Inch Two Stage Snow Blower (HSS928APT)
| Clearing width | Exact listing source |
|---|
Two other gas two-stage machines about as wide, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



The clearing width the listing states, with a 21.7-inch intake. On our planner's maths (4 inches of overlap per pass), a 20-foot-wide two-car drive is 10 passes at this width, and a 4-foot sidewalk 2. The stated throw is up to 52 feet; wet snow lands shorter.
What it has going for it
Track drive. Rubber tracks with cleats instead of wheels, for grip on inclines, ice and rough ground, per the listing. If your drive slopes down to the street, read this line twice.
21.7" intake height. How tall the snow can stand before you take it in two bites. At 20 inches and up, the housing takes a deep overnight dump and a good part of the plough ridge in one go.
Two-car drive: at 28 inches it's 10 passes on a 20-foot-wide drive, on our planner's maths. The 21.7-inch intake takes a normal overnight dump in one bite; the plough ridge, top first.
Long country lane: a 12-foot lane is 6 passes, so a 200-foot lane means about 1,200 feet of walking behind it. Tracks do the pulling, per the listing. Up to 52 feet of throw keeps the banks from creeping in by February.
The seller states, word for word, in the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage listing:
This Honda snow blower uses a commercial grade GX270 OHV engine for plenty of power to churn through snow.
With a throwing distance of up to 52 feet, this gas snow blower features a 28-inch clearing width and 21.7 inch clearing height.
The auger height control lever allows you to easily adjust auger housing height with just the press of a thumb.
That's the seller talking, not us. How it copes with the plough ridge at 6 a.m. isn't something a bullet point can tell you.

What the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage listing names:
That is the maker's promise, not ours. Keep the receipt, register the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage if the maker asks you to, and note the model and serial number before the label disappears under winter grime.
Read the owner's manual before the first storm; it overrides anything above, and October is a better time for it than January.

On Sep 30, 2026, that price put it in the pricier third of the 18 gas two-stage snow blowers we have a recent price for.
The online price is the machine alone. Oil, fuel stabilizer, a few spare shear pins and, if it lives outside, a cover come on top every season.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0GSH9WP1F), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

No gas can in the garage? The EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool (9.3/10) runs on 56V batteries, rated by its maker at up to an 18-car driveway per charge.
Cold hands? The EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage Kit (9.3/10) has heated grips, per its listing.
Done with the pull cord? The PowerSmart 26" 208cc B&S, Handle Warmer (8.9/10) has electric start, per its listing.
Our take
We like the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage for a 28-inch clearing path and rubber tracks instead of wheels. Only 32 buyers have rated it so far (4.6/5), so treat the score as an early read. The catch with this Honda two-stage snow blower: no electric start stated, while most machines here have one. We'd pick it if your drive is long or wide, and fewer passes matter more than garage space; otherwise, put it next to the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S first.
It ships assembled, per the listing. Fill it with fresh gas and check the oil before you need it.
Prime, choke and pull, as the manual says. At 28 inches a pass, a 20-foot drive is 10 passes.
Keep a few spare shear pins on the shelf, and clear a clogged chute with a stick, never your hand. Our safety guide explains why.
Stabilize the fuel or run it dry, as the manual says, and change the oil. Our summer storage guide has the April checklist.
Buyers give it 4.6/5, an excellent record, above our ranked picks' 4.4 average. Only 32 reviews so far, and our formula damps averages built on fewer than 50.
Before the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage ships, check your garage: a 28-inch machine needs a real corner of the garage and a clear path out of it.
Measure the width: at 28 inches, a 20-foot drive takes 10 passes on our planner's maths. Our clearing-width planner does yours in a minute.
The housing height adjusts with a lever, per the listing. On gravel, the housing has to ride high enough not to pick up stones. Our gravel vs paved guide shows the setting.
Measure the garage corner and the door, and keep a dry shelf for oil, stabilizer and spare pins. Our summer storage guide covers the off-season.
It arrives assembled, per the listing: check the oil and fuel before the first start.
How the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage stacks up against the closest alternative, the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S.
| Criterion | Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage | 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 5.8/10 | 6.2/10 |
| Clearing width | 28 in | 24 in |
| Intake height | 21.7 in | Not stated |
| Throw distance | 52 ft | Not stated |
| Drive | Tracks | Not stated |
| Buyer reviews | 32 · 4.6/5 | None captured |
Pick the 1696614 Two-Stage 24" 208cc B&S if you want our higher-rated option (6.2/10); stay with the Honda HSS928APT 28" Two-Stage for a wider path (28 in) and a taller intake (21.7 in).
We rate it 5.8/10 (fair). It is based on 32 buyer reviews averaging 4.6/5 and the specifications stated in the listing.
The listing states a 28 in clearing width for a two-stage machine. Those are the seller's best-case numbers: wet, heavy snow and the packed ridge the plough leaves both cut the throw short. Our clearing-width planner counts how many passes your driveway takes at that width.
Fresh fuel (with a stabilizer if it sits for weeks), the engine oil grade its manual names, a couple of spare shear pins and a dry corner of the garage. Fuel it and start it outdoors only: the exhaust carries carbon monoxide.
Its listing states a 28-inch clearing path, rubber tracks instead of wheels, a 21.7-inch intake, a throw of up to 52 feet, a hydrostatic drive and a 3-year warranty. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how it copes with your snow, your surface and the plough ridge can't be read from a listing.
Your driveway: measure the width: at 28 inches, a 20-foot drive takes 10 passes on our planner's maths. Our clearing-width planner does yours in a minute. Gravel or paved: the housing height adjusts with a lever, per the listing. On gravel, the housing has to ride high enough not to pick up stones. Our gravel vs paved guide shows the setting. Fuel, oil and storage: measure the garage corner and the door, and keep a dry shelf for oil, stabilizer and spare pins. Our summer storage guide covers the off-season. Delivery day: it arrives assembled, per the listing: check the oil and fuel before the first start.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing and 32 buyer reviews, read line by line and weighed the way our methodology page explains.