
PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing
7.3Good · out of 10$899.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 24 in · Two-stage · Gas · 45 ft throw
- 11 buyer reviews
- Two-stage snow blowers

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing and 11 buyer reviews, not from our own use · How we rate
The PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing ticks most of the boxes we care about: 24 inches of snow per pass, 21 inches of intake height and 45 feet of throw. It suits a two-car driveway in a snowy town, at 7.3/10 on our rating.
| Brand | PowerSmart |
|---|---|
| Category | Two-stage snow blowers |
| Clearing width | 24 in |
| Stated maximum throw distance | 45 ft |
| Stages | Two-stage |
| Power source | Gas |
| Intake height | 21 in |
| Engine | 212cc |
| Start | Electric + recoil backup |
| Drive | Self-propelled, 6F/2R |
| Speeds | 6 forward, 2 reverse |
| Chute rotation | 180° |
| Tires | 13 in |
| Snow moved | 2,500 lb/min (maker's figure) |
| Buyer reviews | 11 · 4.0/5 |
| ASIN | B074Y94FNC |
Full listing title: PowerSmart Self-Propelled 2-Stage Gas Snow Blower 24-inch 212cc Engine with Electric Start, Reinforced Steel Housing
| Clearing width | Exact listing source |
|---|---|
| Stated maximum throw distance | Exact listing source |
Two other gas two-stage machines about as wide, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



The clearing width the listing states, with a 21-inch intake. On our planner's maths (4 inches of overlap per pass), a 20-foot-wide two-car drive is 12 passes at this width, and a 4-foot sidewalk 3. Up to 45 feet of throw is stated, and that's the best case, not the wet-March case.
What it has going for it
21" intake height. How tall the snow can stand before you take it in two bites. At 20 inches and up, the housing takes a deep overnight dump and a good part of the plough ridge in one go.
Throws up to 45 ft. Far enough to put the snow past the edge of the drive instead of building a wall beside it, even after a few storms have piled the banks up. It is the seller's best case: wet March snow lands shorter.
Two-car drive: at 24 inches it's 12 passes on a 20-foot-wide drive, on our planner's maths. The 21-inch intake takes a normal overnight dump in one bite; the plough ridge, top first. Electric start, per the listing, so the 6 a.m. part is a button.
Long country lane: a 12-foot lane is 8 passes, so a 200-foot lane means about 1,600 feet of walking behind it. The drive does the pulling, per the listing. Up to 45 feet of throw keeps the banks from creeping in by February.
The seller states, word for word, in the PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing listing:
Steel auger & impeller efficiently clears a 24-inch width, with a 21-inch intake height and the capability to handle up to 12 inches of snow.
Rotates a full 180 degrees for complete directional control, throwing snow up to 45 feet to avoid re-depositing snow on cleared areas, walkways, or landscaping.
Rely on 13"x4" rubber tires to provide traction and maneuverability over snow.
Features both electric start and recoil start options for reliable cold starts.
That's the seller talking, not us. How it copes with the plough ridge at 6 a.m. isn't something a bullet point can tell you.

What the PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing listing names:
The owner's manual has the last word on oil, fuel, charging and shear pins; it ships with the machine, so read it before the first storm.

On Sep 30, 2026, that price put it in the cheaper third of the 18 gas two-stage snow blowers we have a recent price for.
Budget a little every winter on top of this: oil, stabilizer, a gas can and a bag of shear pins.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B074Y94FNC), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

A wider drive, fewer passes? The Honda HSS928AATD 28" Two-Stage (8.5/10) clears 28 inches, per its listing.
No gas can in the garage? The EGO SNT2400 24" Two-Stage, Bare Tool (9.3/10) runs on 56V batteries, rated by its maker at up to an 18-car driveway per charge.
Cold hands? The EGO SNT2807 28" Two-Stage Kit (9.3/10) has heated grips, per its listing.
Our take
Our favourite thing about the PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing is 24 inches of snow per pass, closely followed by 21 inches of intake height. Only 11 buyers have rated it so far (4.0/5), so treat the score as an early read. Honestly, the catch: their 4.0/5 average sits under the 4.4 of our ranked picks. We'd pick it if you dread yanking a pull cord at 6 a.m. in January; otherwise, put it next to the Husqvarna ST124 24" 212cc first.
Check the listing for what you have to put together before the first start. Fill it with fresh gas and check the oil before you need it.
Turn the key or press the button (the pull cord is the backup). At 24 inches a pass, a 20-foot drive is 12 passes.
Keep a few spare shear pins on the shelf, and clear a clogged chute with a stick, never your hand. Our safety guide explains why.
Stabilize the fuel or run it dry, as the manual says, and change the oil. Our summer storage guide has the April checklist.
Buyers give it 4.0/5, a decent record, below our ranked picks' 4.4 average. Only 11 reviews so far, and our formula damps averages built on fewer than 50.
Before you order the PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing, check your driveway width: at 24 inches a pass, a 20-foot drive takes 12 passes on our planner's maths.
Pace out the width and the length (one stride is roughly three feet) and type them into our clearing-width planner. It compares the size classes for you.
On gravel, the housing has to ride high enough not to pick up stones. Our gravel vs paved guide shows the setting.
Fresh gas, the oil grade in the manual and a stabilizer for the off-season. Our oil guide and summer storage guide cover both.
Do it in November, not in the first storm. Our starting guide lists what to check.
How the PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing stacks up against the closest alternative, the Husqvarna ST124 24" 212cc.
| Criterion | PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing | Husqvarna ST124 24" 212cc |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.3/10 | 7.3/10 |
| Intake height | 21 in | Not stated |
| Throw distance | 45 ft | Not stated |
| Drive | Self-propelled, 6F/2R | Not stated |
| Start | Electric + recoil | Not stated |
| Buyer reviews | 11 · 4.0/5 | None captured |
Both score 7.3/10. The PowerSmart 24" 212cc Steel Housing brings a taller intake (21 in) and a longer stated throw (45 ft), so it has the edge on paper.
We rate it 7.3/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing states a 24 in clearing width and a throw of up to 45 ft for a two-stage machine. Those are the seller's best-case numbers: wet, heavy snow and the packed ridge the plough leaves both cut the throw short. Our clearing-width planner counts how many passes your driveway takes at that width.
Fresh fuel (with a stabilizer if it sits for weeks), the engine oil grade its manual names, a couple of spare shear pins and a dry corner of the garage. Fuel it and start it outdoors only: the exhaust carries carbon monoxide.
Its listing states a 24-inch clearing path, a 21-inch intake, a throw of up to 45 feet, a 212cc engine, electric start and 6 forward and 2 reverse speeds. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how it copes with your snow, your surface and the plough ridge can't be read from a listing.
Your driveway: pace out the width and the length (one stride is roughly three feet) and type them into our clearing-width planner. It compares the size classes for you. Gravel or paved: on gravel, the housing has to ride high enough not to pick up stones. Our gravel vs paved guide shows the setting. Fuel, oil and storage: fresh gas, the oil grade in the manual and a stabilizer for the off-season. Our oil guide and summer storage guide cover both. The first start: do it in November, not in the first storm. Our starting guide lists what to check.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing and 11 buyer reviews, read line by line and weighed the way our methodology page explains.